Central Universities Common Entrance Test [CUCET]

CUCET 2018

Exam Date : 17th May 2018 To 18th May 2018
Result Date : 9th June 2018

Home > CUCET 2018

Application form, Dates, Syllabus, Pattern for CUCET 2018

  • Central universities or union universities in India are established by an Act of Parliament and is under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry.
  • In general, universities in India are recognised by the UGC (University Grants Commission), which draws its power from the University Grants Commission Act of 1956.
  • In addition, 15 Professional Councils have been established which control different aspects of accreditation and coordination for different universities.
  • Central universities, in addition to this, are covered by the Central Universities Act of 2009, which regulates their purpose, powers governance and the like, and has established 12 new universities.

The types of universities controlled by the UGC include:

  • State universities are run by the state government of each state and each of the territories of India and are usually established by an act of local legislative assembly.
  • A Deemed University, or a "Deemed to be University", is a status of autonomy granted by the Department of Higher Education on the advice of the UGC, under Section 3 of UGC Act, 1956.
  • Private universities are approved by the UGC. They can grant degrees but they are not allowed to have affiliated colleges which are off-campus.

Apart from the above universities, other institutions are granted the permission to autonomously award degrees to colleges. These institutes do not affiliate colleges and are not officially called "Universities" but "autonomous organisations" or "Autonomous Institutes". They fall under the administrative control of the Department of Higher Education. 

These organisations include the following:

  • The Indian Institutes of Technology
  • The National Institutes of Technology
  • The Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research
  • The Indian Institutes of Engineering Science and Technology
  • The Indian Institutes of Management (though these award diplomas, not degrees)
  • The National Law Schools
  • The All India Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Other autonomous institutes.

The Central University Common Entrance Test is commonly referred to as CUCET. The Universities of Tamil Nadu, Jammu, Jharkhand, Kashmir, Haryana, Kerala, Punjab and Rajasthan jointly conducts this entrance exam, available for students across India. The test is apt for candidates willing to gain admission into the Graduate-level, PG Level and PhD level course at the above-mentioned Universities.

Ten Central Universities in the country have approved CUCET 2018 which are as follows:

  • Central University of Bihar
  • Central University of Gujarat
  • Central University of Jammu
  • Central University of Jharkhand
  • Central University of Kashmir
  • Central University of Kerala
  • Central University of Orissa
  • Central University of Punjab
  • Central University of Rajasthan
  • Central University of Tamil Nadu
  • Dr BR Ambedkar School of Economics (BASE) Bengaluru

Summary of CUCET 2018:


Central Universities Common Entrance Test

Level of exam



Universities of Tamil Nadu, Jammu, Jharkhand, Kashmir, Haryana, Kerala, Punjab and Rajasthan

Degree Level

UG, PG, PhD/M.Phill

Discussion Forum

  View all exams