SSC Combined Higher Secondary Level Exam [SSC CHSL]


Exam Date : 7th January 2018 To 10th April 2018
Result Date : 1st July 2018

Home > SSC CHSL 2018

An Overview of SSC CHSL 2018 

Every Year Staff Selection Commission conducts Combined Higher Secondary Level Exam to recruit various posts namely Postal Assistants/Sorting Assistants, Data Entry Operators, Lower Divisional Clerks and Court Clerk.

SSC CHSL is a Staff Selection Commission- Combined Higher Secondary Level. Thousands of vacancies every year in Government departments are filled by SSC. Most of the candidates are applying this exam for the post of LDC, DEO, Postal Assistance, Sorting Assistance and Court Clerk. For this position, they have to clear tier 1, tier 2 and tier 3 Examination.

For the preparation of this SSC CHSL Exam, the candidate first has to know the syllabus, eligibility and pattern.

Tier 1 - Computer based written examination: The total marks allotted for this test is 200 marks. Each segment in SSC CHSL Online Test has 25 questions and every question carries 2 marks each. Extra 25 minutes has been given to the PWD candidates to complete this tier 1 exam. A provision of negative marking is there is this exam, 0.5 marks will be deducted for every wrong marked answer. The question paper of this test will be provided in the languages (English and Hindi), excluding English language section.

Tier 2 - Descriptive Paper: This paper consists of 100 marks and is conducted in offline mode with the duration of 1 hour and for the candidate of PWD Category the extra time of 20 minutes. This paper includes Essay writing, Letter writing/Application and is to be written either in Hindi or in English.

Tier 3 - Typing Test/Skill Test: SSC CHSL will conduct the Typing Test for the candidates who are applying for Data Entry Operator (DEO). Candidates who are appearing for the post of LDC, Court Clerk and Postal Assistant/Sorting Assistant Skill Test Exam will be conducted. During the SSC Registration time, the candidates have to choose their language medium. The skill test will be conducted at the Commission’s Regional Centres or the other centres.

Sr. No

Name of the Region


SSC(NR), New Delhi


SSC(CR), Allahabad


SSC(WR), Mumbai


SSC(ER), Kolkata


SSC(NER), Guwahati


SSC(SR), Chennai


SSC(KKR), Bengaluru


SSC(MPR), Raipur


SSC(NWR), Chandigarh

Discussion Forum

  View all exams